Managing Accounts - Best Practices - m3ter Documentation

Personally Identifiable Information (PII)

Under the Data Processing Agreement, the only fields you are allowed to use for any of your end customer PII data in m3ter are the name, address, and emailAddress fields on the Account entity. For more details see:

Best Practice:

Editing and Deleting Accounts - Implications for Usage Data

The Usage Data measurements ingested for Accounts are key to the usage-based pricing applied to Product Plans used to charge and Bill Accounts that consume your Products. It’s important to understand clearly how that usage data is associated with Accounts and what the implications are when it comes to editing or deleting Accounts.

How are the usage data ingested for an Account linked to the Account?

When usage data measurements are ingested into the platform, you submit them using the relevant Meter and Account Codes. However, once ingested, and for subsequent configuration and data management purposes, the usage data is linked strictly to the Account and Meter ids.

Note: Auto-created Accounts? For usage data submission you make when the Account does not yet exist for your Organization, the system will auto-create an Account for you. But the result is the same as when the Account does already exist - the usage data is linked strictly to the new Account’s id.

When is the Account id created and how do I find out what it is?

To create an Account, you supply the Code you want to use for the Account. On successful creation, the system generates a unique id and assigns it to the new Account:

What are the consequences if I delete an Account after submitting usage data for the Account?

If you delete the Account, any submitted usage data linked to the Account’s id are permanently dissociated from it.

If I have no option but to delete and recreate an Account, what are the consequences?

In this sort of case, the key issue to consider is whether or not you have already submitted usage data for the Account:

Note: Recreated Account uses same Code? This is the case even if you use the same Code for the recreated Account as the Code that was used for the original and now deleted Account.

What happens to any bills that have been generated for an account if I then delete the account?

Any bills generated for an Account will still be available to view in Bill Management after the Account is deleted - see Running Bills and Viewing Bill Details. However, even if you recreate the Account with the same code, this new Account will be assigned a different Account id. This means that existing Bills generated for the old deleted Account will not be re-associated with the new Account.

Best Practice: